Packing List: Florida Keys

Last year, ManFriend and I took a trip to Key West with some friends, and we loved it so much we planned another for this year. You can read about our eats, drinks, adventures, and snorkeling… and, of course, how I packed for that trip (flying from DC).

This year, we’re doing things a little differently – staying in the middle keys instead of Key West proper, bringing the boat with us, and I’m driving down instead of flying. While that might make it even more tempting to pack any beach/summer attire I have just in case, I’ve already pared down to the bare necessities to guarantee an easy, relaxing, comfortable, and tan weekend.

Capture.PNG

  • Swimsuits: I mean, what’s the point of vacationing on an island with a boat if you’re not going to be nearly naked in a swimsuit the majority of the time? I’m packing a few mix-and-match bikini separates (black and b&w stripes) as well as a new one-piece with a super-cut-out back that I will feel more comfortable being active (and drunk) in.
  • Shorts: Because the Keys are located on the literal sun, if I have to wear clothing, it’s going to be shorts and tanks. I’m packing a pair of denim shorts, as well as some comfy Lululemon track shorts (for lazing around the house or throwing on over swimsuit bottoms) as well as quite possibly my favorite shorts for adventures – Lululemon’s Spring Breakaway shorts. They look like nice shorts, but are made from athletic material!
  • Tanks: Because, really, sleeves are not an option in the Southernmost point of the country.
  • Bralettes: There’s a fair chance I won’t wear an actual bra the entire trip, and I’m 110% okay with that. Nothing screams “lazy ocean vacation” louder than a lacy bralette peeking out of a baggy tank top.
  • Sundress: The one I plan on bringing is thin and backless, and, bonus, I can wear a bralette under it. For the Sunday brunch I’m going to have to put on “real clothes” for, this is my go to for easy and legitimately breezy.

Pack it all into my favorite Vera Bradley weekender duffel, add in my snorkel gear, sunnies, and my Kino sandals from last year, and I’m ready to catch lobster, snorkel, and drink my weight in mimosas for three days.

Leave a Reply

