Packing List: Life Limbo Capsule Wardrobe

Right before Christmas, I made a ballsy decision to move out of my apartment and to another state in order to pursue the next steps in my career and be closer to friends and family. All of my belongings were either sold or packed into my Jeep, and while I am staying with the ManFriend until things are concrete, there isn’t much room in the closet for my clothing.

Luckily, I am able to work remotely at my current job, so I don’t need to worry about office attire. (Leggings and over-sized sweatshirts for the win!) It’s the first time in years that I’m living in the same city as my best friends, so there are lots of occasions that I actually need to get dressed for. I’ve survived this period in my life by paring down my accessible clothing to a simple but versatile capsule wardrobe.

Capsule Wardrobe.PNG

Since Capsule Wardrobes are all the rage, I wanted to share how I’m living out of a duffel bag by relying on these pieces (plus the unpictured leggings and a small pile of white, grey, and black tanks and tees… luckily I am somewhere warm!)

  • A black maxi dress. I’m pretty sure this dress has made it on almost every packing list, from Europe to the Keys, and for a good reason. There’s not much more versatile than a black maxi dress.
  • A chambray shirt. It’s a bathing suit cover up. It can be tied over top the maxi dress. It can be tucked into a pencil skirt for a job interview. Endless options.
  • A black pencil skirt. So, I definitely included an awesome leather one that I wish I had here, but any that hits a couple of inches above the knee can work for a more casual office and a date night.
  • Slouchy tunic sweater. My mom gave me a thick oxblood/maroon colored one for Christmas, and the slight oversizing makes it incredible cozy to toss over jeans or black skinny pants, or even tucked into a skirt.
  • I’ve been relying on 3 pair of pants: dark-wash skinny jeans, distressed boyfriend pants, and skinny high-waist black pants. And, of course, since I’m someplace where 85 degrees in January isn’t completely unheard of, my favorite pair of denim shorts.
  • A white v-neck blouse that I can dress up with booties and the black skinnies, or dressed down half-tucked into the boyfriend jeans.
  • A couple of statement tops help keep my wardrobe feeling colorful and fresh among a lot of black and neutrals. My favorite red top is backless and adorned with a bow, and a springy mint-and-floral crop top dresses up boyfriend jeans. One of my favorite, most-worn tops is a sheer, flouncy black top with the tiniest straps.
  • A boyfriend blazer on deck in case I have a job interview or it gets chilly in the evening.
  • A black shirt-dress with a sash for an impromptu job interview or dressed up for a date.

I find myself constantly reaching for black flat sandals, suede booties, or my favorite bronze suede Charles David ankle boots to finish off my outfits. Yes, I’m dressing very simply and yes, it’s a huge help that I don’t have to suit up for an office during this time. But it’s refreshing to pare down, even for a limited amount of time, and start the new year with a renewed perspective on my wardrobe. I’m hoping that once I am settled into my next chapter, I can embrace a more minimalist wardrobe.  It feels refreshing, like choosing something from a short, gourmet menu instead of a five-page diner menu.

Leave a Reply

